Enshrouded Hotfixes: Which Need a Dedicated Server Update?
Short version: Since Hotfix #29 (Aug 2025), Keen Games has explicitly said a dedicated server update was not needed for five releases: Hotfix #29, #33, #36, #37 and #42. For every other patch and hotfix in the table, including 1.0.0.0, Hotfixes 1.0.0.1 to 1.0.0.3 and Patch #1 (1.0.1.0), the changelog doesn't say either way. The table below lists them all so you can see where your server stands.
Server update by release
Newest first, from Hotfix #29 (Aug 2025) to Patch #1 (1.0.1.0, Nov 2026). The Update column is our mapping by version number. Keen’s own changelog titles read Update #6 v.0.8.1.0, Update #7 v.0.9.0.0 and Update #8 v.0.9.1.0.
| Release (date, UTC) | Update | Version | Revision (as posted) | Dedicated server, per Keen Games |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patch #1 (2026-11-02) | 1.0 | 1.0.1.0 | 1283531 | Not stated. Version number changed from 1.0.0.3. |
| Hotfix 1.0.0.3 (2026-10-21) | 1.0 | 1.0.0.3 | 1273043 | Not stated. Version number changed from 1.0.0.2. |
| Hotfix 1.0.0.2 (2026-10-16) | 1.0 | 1.0.0.2 | 1269579 | Not stated. Version number changed from 1.0.0.1. |
| Hotfix 1.0.0.1 (2026-10-15) | 1.0 | 1.0.0.1 | 1267041 | Not stated. Version number changed from 1.0.0.0. |
| 1.0 (released 2026-10-15; changelog posted 2026-10-14) | 1.0 | 1.0.0.0 | not posted | Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.1.2. |
| Hotfix #42 (2026-06-29) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.2 | 1076226 | Not needed. “dedicated servers do not need an update.” |
| Hotfix #41 (2026-05-11) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.2 | 1024233 | Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.1.1. |
| Hotfix #40 (2026-05-06) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.1 | 1018982 | Not stated |
| Patch #14 (2026-04-29) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.1 | 1013216 | Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.1.0. |
| Hotfix #39 (2026-04-23) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.0 | 1004637 | Not stated |
| Hotfix #38 (2026-04-22) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.0 | 1002673 | Not stated |
| Hotfix #37 (2026-04-21) | Update 8 | 0.9.1.0 | 999467 “(no change)” | Not needed. “this hotfix updates clients only.” |
| Hotfix #36 (2026-03-24) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.4 | “still 893400” | Not needed. “this is a client-only fix.” |
| Hotfix #35 (2026-01-26) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.4 | 893400 | Not stated |
| Patch #13 (2026-01-22) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.4 | 890625 | Not stated |
| Hotfix #34 (2025-12-16) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.3 | 852257 (as posted; looks like a typo, not confirmed) | Not stated. The revision is the same number as Hotfix #32 and lower than Patch #12’s 873620, which came out earlier the same day. |
| Patch #12 (2025-12-16) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.3 | 873620 | Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.0.2. |
| Hotfix #33 (2025-12-05) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.2 | “still 855142” | Not needed. “an update is only required for clients. Dedicated servers don’t require an update.” |
| Patch #11 (2025-11-25) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.2 | 855142 | Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.0.1. The changelog mentions dedicated servers only in a performance line. |
| Hotfix #32 (2025-11-19) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.1 | 852257 | Not stated. Includes a warning about a broken-save bug (flame altars). |
| Hotfix #31 (2025-11-14) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.1 | 848844 | Not stated |
| Patch #10 (2025-11-13) | Update 7 | 0.9.0.1 | 848023 | Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.0.0. |
| Hotfix #30 (2025-11-11) | Update 7 | v.09.0.0 (as posted; the dot looks misplaced) | 845905 | Not stated |
| Hotfix #29 (2025-08-25) | Update 6 | 0.8.1.2 | “STILL 729115” | Not needed. “Dedicated servers do not need to be updated.” |
Hotfix #37 was posted the same day Update 8 (“Forging the Path”) went live. The changelog titles jump from 0.9.0.4 (Hotfix #36) to 0.9.1.0 (Hotfix #37).
The Patch #1 at the top is version 1.0.1.0, posted Nov 2, 2026. Don’t confuse it with the Early Access patches numbered #10 to #14 further down.
How to read the table
- “Not needed” means the changelog says so in those words. Your server can stay on the build it already has.
- “Not stated” means the changelog doesn’t say whether dedicated servers need an update. It does not mean an update is optional. Our recommendation, not Keen’s: when the version number changes (for example 0.9.0.1 → 0.9.0.2, or 0.9.0.4 → 0.9.1.0), update the server too.
- Keen Games doesn’t explain what “revision” means in its changelogs. For Hotfixes #29, #33, #36 and #37, which it says need no server update, it pointed out that the revision hadn’t changed. For Hotfix #42 the revision number did change, but the changelog still says servers don’t need an update. So a revision change on its own doesn’t tell you whether to update.
- Our reading: every time a changelog says the revision is unchanged (“STILL”, “still” or “(no change)”), it also says dedicated servers need no update. That holds for all four such cases here (Hotfix #29, #33, #36, #37). So “revision unchanged” looks like a strong sign, and “revision changed” is no sign either way. Four cases is a small sample, and Keen’s own wording is the only authority.
- If your server stopped showing in the server list after a patch, see Enshrouded dedicated server not showing after update.
For what to do when you do update (matching versions, backing up saves, a config file that didn’t update cleanly), see our Enshrouded dedicated server setup page.
1.0: October 15, 2026
Enshrouded left Early Access on Steam on October 15, 2026 (Keen’s launch post). Keen posted the 1.0.0.0 changelog a day earlier, on October 14 (UTC).
What it says, and doesn’t say, for server hosts (checked Oct 15, 2026):
- Version: 1.0.0.0. No revision number is posted.
- Server update: not stated. The changelog doesn’t say whether dedicated servers need an update. Going by our rule above (version number changed, from 0.9.1.2 to 1.0.0.0), update the server too. That’s our recommendation, not Keen’s.
- Permissions: “On dedicated servers, the user groups with the associated passwords work as before - promoting and demoting is not possible while playing on the server.” The new single-password permission system is for hosts in the game itself.
- Saves: 1.0 uses a new save data format. Saves “created with version 0.8 or earlier” are backed up and migrated on first load. The changelog doesn’t say anything specific about dedicated server saves.
Hotfix 1.0.0.1 (October 15, 2026)
Keen posted the Hotfix 1.0.0.1 changelog the same day, at 19:18 UTC (checked Oct 16, 2026).
- Version: 1.0.0.1. The post gives “Version number is: 1267041”, which we list as the revision.
- Server update: not stated. The changelog has no dedicated server line. Going by our rule above (version number changed, from 1.0.0.0 to 1.0.0.1), update the server too. That’s our recommendation, not Keen’s.
- What it fixes: random crashes, crashes “caused by specific peripherals attached to the PC”, an indoor lighting problem, the Fire Wisp scroll level, and the Deluxe Upgrade Pack artbook and world map.
- Known issue Keen flagged: if the world edit button doesn’t work, Keen’s temporary workaround is “subscribing to something (anything) in adventure sharing, and then try editing your world again.”
Hotfix 1.0.0.2 (October 16, 2026)
Keen posted the Hotfix 1.0.0.2 changelog on October 16 at 14:39 UTC (checked Oct 17, 2026).
- Version: 1.0.0.2. The post gives “Version is: 1269579”, which we list as the revision.
- Server update: not stated. The changelog has no dedicated server line. Going by our rule above (version number changed, from 1.0.0.1 to 1.0.0.2), update the server too. That’s our recommendation, not Keen’s.
- Server crashes: “Fixed an issue that could lead to the server crashing when fighting a very large number of enemies.” The changelog doesn’t say whether that means dedicated servers, a game hosted from the client, or both. If your server crashed during big fights, this is the line to look at.
- World settings: “Fixed an issue that prevented configuring world settings. It was introduced accidentally in the previous hotfix while we fixed the misbehaving session lists in the multiplayer join menus.” So 1.0.0.1 also changed the session lists in the multiplayer join menus, which its own changelog didn’t list. Keen doesn’t say whether this is the same problem as the world edit button issue it flagged in 1.0.0.1 (above).
- Missing characters: Keen fixed “a rare crash during save game migration” and adds: “With this hotfix, such corrupted characters will not be migrated.” If a character is missing from your character list, Keen’s advice is “please be patient - help is on the way!”
- Other fixes: a grey-fog rendering problem on Nvidia cards, factory crashes, a crash when fast traveling or landing with a glider in worlds with many entities, Adventure Share subscribing and browsing, water simulation crashes, a Twitch link server crash, a crash with a completely full backpack, crashes on exit, and skill tree localization in several languages.
Hotfix 1.0.0.3 (October 21, 2026)
Keen posted the Hotfix 1.0.0.3 changelog on October 21 at 10:07 UTC (checked Oct 22, 2026).
- Version: 1.0.0.3. The post gives “Version is: 1273043”, which we list as the revision.
- Server update: not stated. The changelog has no dedicated server line, and unlike 1.0.0.2 it doesn’t mention server crashes at all. Going by our rule above (version number changed, from 1.0.0.2 to 1.0.0.3), update the server too. That’s our recommendation, not Keen’s.
- Multiplayer black screen: “Fixed an issue that caused an endless black screen for some players when trying to load a multiplayer game.” The changelog doesn’t say whether this was on dedicated servers, games hosted from the client, or both.
- Save migration, follow-up to 1.0.0.2: three lines are about migrating older saves to 1.0:
- “Fixed a rare crash that could occur during the save data migration process.”
- Characters with invalid entries in the additional backpack slots: “Characters should now migrate correctly, without the items that previously caused the process to stop.” So those characters come across, but the items that caused the problem don’t.
- Bases whose Flame Altar was not placed in the voxel grid: the migration now corrects the altar’s position, but “the affected player base’s water can’t be loaded and must be re-added as needed.”
- Still missing a character? 1.0.0.2 said corrupted characters “will not be migrated” and that “help is on the way”. Keen doesn’t say whether the backpack-slot fix in 1.0.0.3 is that promised fix, or whether it covers every character 1.0.0.2 left out. If a character is still missing after 1.0.0.3, that question is still open.
- Early Access rewards: “Some users who were missing Early Access rewards now correctly have them redeemable in the game’s pause menu.”
- Other fixes: crashes connected to the water simulation, when leaving the game, at random, when interacting with factories, and when unlocking recipes while a recipe-list filter is active; light flickering in very large player bases; and stuttering with V-Sync on AMD graphics cards (Keen says “Improved”, not fixed).
Patch #1 (November 2, 2026)
Keen posted the Patch #1 changelog on November 2 at 10:35 UTC (checked Nov 3, 2026). Its title calls it “Patch 1.0.1.0”.
- Version: 1.0.1.0. The post gives “Version is: 1283531”, which we list as the revision.
- Server update: not stated. The changelog has no dedicated server line, and the word “server” doesn’t appear in it. Going by our rule above (version number changed, from 1.0.0.3 to 1.0.1.0), update the server too. That’s our recommendation, not Keen’s.
- Large bases: “Improved stability in multiplayer when hosting a world with very large player bases.” The changelog doesn’t say whether that means dedicated servers, a game hosted from the client, or both. It also lists “Fixed a cause of flickering shadows in very large player bases.” 1.0.0.3 had already fixed light flickering in very large player bases.
- Save migration, PC only: two lines, both under “PC-specific”:
- “Fixed several cases that could cause a save data migration to trigger an error. If a save file caused migration issues before, please try the migration again with this update.”
- “Increased the memory budget for the total sum of all player bases during the save data migration. This fix only affects save data with too many player bases.”
- Still missing a character? Neither migration line mentions characters, so Keen still hasn’t said whether the fix 1.0.0.2 promised (“help is on the way”) has shipped. For a save that had migration issues on PC, Keen’s advice is to try the migration again on 1.0.1.0.
- Other fixes: 109 lines in all. Among them: crashes related to tombstones, a few random crashes, a crash when closing the game, and on PC a random GPU crash. Most of the rest are about combat, enemies, building, UI and sound.
For the combat changes in 1.0, see Enshrouded 1.0 combat changes.